Gone away, faraway

Gone away, faraway
You didn’t leave
Instead I fled I ran from everything I knew
From everything I’ve ever known
Into a place where I had thought
I could be my own
But I was wrong
Like a faded tune to a broken song
When did I get so jaded?
It’s always been like this
Because it can’t be any other way
Or so I tell myself
As the voices keep whispering
It’s wrong
It’s wrong
It’s wrong
When will someone correct me?
When will someone pull me back to the right track?
How far can I go
Without screaming “no!”
It’s not perfect enough
The rhythm
The beat
It’s all wrong
It’s out of tune
It doesn’t even rhyme
It’s all out of time
Who the hell cares
If I sync
Or if I float
Life is what you make of it
Craft your own boat
And go on an adventure
To search for that treasure
Gone away, faraway

Leave a comment